• TheDMonline.com Staff Member?
  • Log In
Share |

Content about Opinion

November 30, 2012

When I sat down to write this column, my last one for The Daily Mississippian, I thought it would be easy. Graduation for me is right around the corner.

November 30, 2012

I have been in the U.S. since August 2011. Since then, I have been to two football games at Ole Miss and three NBA basketball games in Memphis.
I still remember the first football game I went to last September against BYU. American sports enthusiasm was beyond my imagination.

November 30, 2012

I’ve had a curious relationship with Ole Miss since I began seeing her in adolescence. One of the earliest memories I have of her is how she looked when Florida came to Oxford in 2002. I remember all of her admirers being elated to call themselves her Rebels that day – and I began to admire her as well.

November 30, 2012

Well, it’s that time of year again. With less than two weeks left in the semester, I know I am not alone in saying that the mounting pressures of final papers, assignments and exams have pushed me to the ultimate level of procrastination.
I, for one, have terrible self-control when it comes to Internet browsing. In past years I have stooped so low as to have my friends change my Facebook password in order to keep me from wasting time on the site. While I have yet to resort to that this semester, I have a feeling the breaking point is getting close.

November 30, 2012

I just want to say right up front, that this subject is not really up my alley … or across my street, down my road or next door at the house that sits empty although we hear noises there all the time, either; or at least, I hope not.
But, as I debated about writing my thoughts on Measure B, I decided that as a journalist, I need to be able to write about most anything; even if this particular hoopla seems absolutely ridiculous to me. So here goes:

November 30, 2012

Space is something I want more of most weeks. It’s hard to scratch the surface of some topics with 700 words and a week of writing. This semester, I rehashed exclusivism, marijuana prohibition, freedom, what love is and so on. Before I go, I have some final thoughts.

November 30, 2012

After Wednesday night, two Americans became a lot richer. I mean over $100 million richer.
What did they do to amount this wealth? They bought a lottery ticket.
On Wednesday, the multi-state lottery reached a record $588 million. More than 42 states, as well as the U.S. Virgin Islands and the District of Columbia, participate in the lottery, according to the Multi-State Lottery Association. Over the past 20 years, lottery winners have taken home more than $11.6 billion.

November 28, 2012

Rarely will you read a column of mine that advocates 1. An expansion of federal government power and 2. A tax increase. This one, however, does advocate these.
The Constitution grants Congress and the federal government the power to regulate interstate commerce. The vast majority of Internet purchases fit into the category of interstate commerce.

November 28, 2012

Images from last night's Christmas tree lighting ceremony and "Grand Ole Christmas" event in the Union by The Daily Mississippian photographers Austin McAfee and Tanner Marquis

Images from last night's Christmas tree lighting ceremony and "Grand Ole Christmas" event in the Union by The Daily Mississippian photographers Austin McAfee and Tanner Marquis

November 27, 2012

Dear Editor,

I write in hopes that the new committee on race relations announced just before the Thanksgiving break will not simply investigate the “events” and “climate” here at Ole Miss, but also think about exactly why some students still use the “n-word.”

November 27, 2012

That should be the lesson that we take away from the heightened discussion of racism on our campus.
The Daily Mississippian, student leaders, and faculty and staff have all published or made outward statements to address the issue of race at the University of Mississippi. It has certainly been a topic of conversation in the past months coupled with the 50 years of integration, ESPN’s “30 for 30: Ghosts of Ole Miss,” and the recent issues erupting after the presidential election. The question is, what happens now?

November 27, 2012

With all of the attention surrounding the events on campus following President Obama’s re-election, I’m going to offer an odd suggestion: go see “Cloud Atlas” and “Skyfall.”
What do these films have to do with those events? What in the name of MI6 could they possibly have to do with each other? And how can they help us understand rapidly accelerating technological and social change? I’m going to try to link all these up without spoilering, so bear with me.

November 26, 2012

Well, it’s business as usual with a case of the Mondays. The semester’s end has come and we’ve only a bit further to go.
Whether or not you’ve utilized your Thanksgiving time wisely flows as water under a bridge. Now, the proving grounds are here and despite our eventful fall let us finish strong. Over the next two weeks letter grades can be made and lost by your choices.

November 26, 2012

In President Obama’s first term, 300 drone strikes killed an estimated 2,500 people. Drone strikes are a powerful tool in the war on terror, but they are also a tool without rules.
The New York Times reported yesterday that in the weeks before the presidential election, the Obama administration was scrambling to create guidelines for the use of drones. These rules were to be created in case Obama wasn’t re-elected; the new president would then have a clear set of directives to determine when the use of drone strikes was allowed.

November 25, 2012
November 15, 2012

I will begin this letter by saying that I don’t know you, and I don’t know Jamal. I don’t know why you scribbled “blacks are known to steal,” racial slurs and other profanity in Sharpie pen across his dormitory door.

November 15, 2012

A great column appeared in Tuesday’s Daily Mississippian written by my friend, Tim Abram. It’s the best opinion column I’ve read as a student here at The University of Mississippi — and it’s a message all of our students need to hear. Mr. Abram spoke of the tacit approval of racism on our campus, which has allowed the problem to persist since integration in 1962.

November 15, 2012

To the University Community:

On the heels of the Election Night “riots,” another racist incident has been reported in the news media. A black freshman’s truck was vandalized the day before, with racial slurs keyed into his truck and the tires slashed. In light of these terrible events, I applaud the students, staff, faculty, and alumni who have joined together in the past week to emphasize that this is not acceptable at the University of Mississippi. Unfortunately, much more is needed.

November 15, 2012

Dear Editor,

Enough is ENOUGH!
Due to recent episodes of racial harassment that have occurred on the University of Mississippi campus, the image being portrayed of a campus united is beginning to unravel. These events are very troubling and they reinforce the negative perceptions that many nationally (and in the wake of recent events, internationally) have of the University of Mississippi.

November 15, 2012

Letter to the Editor,

November 15, 2012

An Open Letter to the Student Body,

I am not writing to express any feelings of embarrassment, disappointment, or anger toward the students who shouted racist language and displayed violent behavior after the announcement of our president’s reelection. I am writing to express my concerns regarding the response of the university community to that event.

November 15, 2012

Dear Editor,

Anyone from Mississippi knows how difficult it is to reconcile different aspects of Mississippi’s identity.  Our state is home to brilliant authors and businesspeople, but is mired in poverty.  We are the most hospitable, giving state in the Union, but our state is more recognized for its latent racism.